Human Sense

by Amalina Taib, edited by Sianne Fraser

 

We are at the verge of the cliff, I feel.

That sky-high feeling, I always tell myself,

Can change into desperate inhales.

The lungs shorter of air the higher we go.

I always keep the cliff within sight

Throughout the climb.

Sometimes as a precautionary step.

Sometimes I just find myself calculating the possibility

Of falling, both of us, falling.

I remember jumping down

Letting myself be devoured by gravity.

But gravity is home

And the breeze put me at rest

And I breathed again, freely.

 

I hear the cliff calling, crackling
While gravity maintains its force.

The time is near, I feel,

That we touch down on the ground

For eternity and for real.

Leave a Reply

