Silence

by Charlotte Adamson, with commentary from Srishti Kadu

Everywhere.
Nothingness.
Emptiness.
I hear things,
voices.
Screaming, yelling.
Begging me to let them out.
Begging me to release them from their silent prison
yet I stay silent.
Watching as their bodies contort in pain.
Standing as they reach out at me through the solid bars.
Watching as they call my name in suffered tones,
I stay as silent as a saint.

Yet.
I am no saint
nor sinner.
I am nothing
I am Silence.
Silence is me.

Leave a Reply

